First Members Appointed to Minister’s new Advisory Council

March 31, 2021

Victoria — Sixteen people from throughout the province have been appointed to the new Minister’s Advisory Council on Children and Youth with Support Needs (CYSN MAC).

“I’m so pleased to be announcing the members of the new council,” said Mitzi Dean, Minister of Children and Family Development, and chair, CYSN MAC. “We were fortunate to receive an overwhelming number of applicants – from parents to advocates and self-advocates, to service providers, agencies and more – each with their own story and experiences, their own areas of knowledge and expertise. The experience and expertise of our 16-member council will be crucial in our efforts to better support children and youth, and ensure families are at the centre of those improvements.”

Members include parents, representatives from umbrella organizations, a youth advocate and an Indigenous Elder who will share their voices, expertise and experiences to help shape the development of the new CYSN Service Framework.

Effective April 1, 2021, to April 1, 2022, the following members will be appointed to the CYSN MAC:

  • Laranna Androsoff, parent from the Interior region;
  • Dreena Davies, parent from the Vancouver coastal region;
  • Katherine Foo, parent from the Fraser region;
  • Lori Gauthier, parent from the North region;
  • Aida Gordon, parent from the Vancouver Island Region;
  • May Sam, Elder from the Tsartlip First Nation; and
  • Izabelle Stevens, youth representative from the Vancouver coastal region.

Effective April 1, 2021, to Oct. 1, 2022, the following members will be appointed to the CYSN MAC:

  • Devinder Chattha, director of language studies, settlement and social programs at the Progressive Intercultural Community Services Society;
  • Angela Clancy, executive director of the Family Support Institute;
  • Diana Elliott, provincial advisor for the Provincial Office for Aboriginal Infant Development Programs of B.C.;
  • Jason Gordon, provincial advocate for the BC Association for Child Development and Intervention;
  • Brenda Lenahan, founder of BC Parents of Complex Kids;
  • Lisa Meneian, executive director of the Deaf Children’s Society of BC;
  • Joshua Myers, executive director for the BC Centre for Ability;
  • Deborah Pugh, executive director of Autism Community Training; and
  • Jacqueline Watts, provincial advisor for the Provincial Office for Aboriginal Supported Child Development Programs of B.C.

The inaugural meeting of the council will be held early in May 2021. Regular updates will be posted online.

“I am very much looking forward to meeting the council virtually in May,” said Dan Coulter, Parliamentary Secretary for Accessibility, and vice-chair, CYSN MAC. “Because of the outpouring of interest to join the council, we’re also inviting people to stay connected to the work we’re doing, as there may be future opportunities for them to share their insights, ideas and experiences.”

Learn more at BC Gov News